Votes: 14 22.6%
  • Exclusively Old World species

Votes: 3 4.8%
  • A mix of New and Old

Votes: 45 72.6%

• Total voters

Zeph

Arachnosquire
Personally, I'm a beginner to the hobby (had some docile adults as a kid) with only five slings under my belt. All are New World, I'm weary of the venom of the Old World species. I was wondering if acquiring Old World species comes naturally with more experience in the hobby, or if hobbyists can be perfectly happy owning New World species exclusively?

AmysAnimals

Arachnobaron
I think it all depends on what you like. Do you like feistiness? A lot of OW are feisty. I think people can be perfectly happy owning all NW species but if you want like a certain species that is OW and you really want it of course you should get it. With the proper research and caution of course. I have all NW species right now and can't get any OW yet since my parents objected. But when I move out that will change. Ive got my eye on a couple species I like.

rockhopper

Arachnosquire
NW or OW doesn't make a difference to me. I have both and don't really plan on getting bitten by either. I usually just go after whatever T interests me at the time. My B vagans is one of my feistiest Ts, much more 'aggressive' then say my P ornata or regalis who would much rather run and hide then come out to 'play'.

jayefbe

Arachnoprince
Old Timer