Chaco Golden Knee Tarantula Sling Care

timok68

Arachnopeon
Hey everyone, I'm new to the tarantula world and picked up a chaco golden knee sling about a week ago. Shes quite small, maybe only a half inch. Shes in a very small deli dish with holes in the top and sides. I have a few questions regarding her care. First, how many times per week should I feed her? Can I feed her a dead pinhead cricket? Can I use pinhead crickets and mealworms, or can I use other prey? Also, should I moisten the substrate? It's pretty dry right now and I've heard mixed answers on whether or not I should moisten it. Also, how often should I change her substrate? Thanks for the feedback guys.

tonypace2009

Arachnoknight
Old Timer
Spray one side of the deli cup with water that way it gets moisture but also has a dry side.The spider will also drink from the
Droplets of water on the side of dish. Crickets or mealworms will work just pinch their heads so they can't bite. I feed. Mine
About every 5 days and moisten substrate twice a week but conditions very. The substrate should be damp not water loged.
I just keep leftover food cleaned out as long as there is no mold the substrate should be fine. Hope this helps

Storm76

Arachnoemperor
Old Timer
Word of advice: Get some books about them, start reading about them on the net, looks up scientific papers and the like...which, frankly, you should've done before you acquired the little guy. Good luck with your T.

timok68

Arachnopeon
Hey guys, I don't know if y'all are still around but I still had my spiderling till yesterday, she had clearly grown since I got her back in June. I moved her 2 days ago to a new, larger enclosure with larger air holes. This was a bad mistake, as I went to check on her yesterday and she was gone. I made the holes too big and realized this too late. I have no idea where she is, provided she's still alive. I am still sad and disappointed about it. Just letting you guys know.

cold blood

Staff member