Poecilotheria subfusca

Alias

Arachnosquire
Old Timer
Hi,

after a long thinking I finally decided to buy a spiderling of this species. This was my dream for last half a year, when I saw an adult female subfusca first time :) now, this particular female has produced an eggsack {D

I´m still little bit concerned about the speed combined with defensiveness, but I have some experience with keeping Psalmopoeus irminia, so I hope this wouldnt be much worse :?

Of course I have searched all the available care sheets and asked the seller a hundred questions, but Im still interested in some first-hand experience, special tips, etc.

Thanks,

and as always, sorry for my poor English.

Lasiodora

Arachnoangel
Old Timer
I pretty much treat all my Poecilotheria the same. I give them a cork bark curl to hide in. This will ensure that they feel secure and won't bolt when I open their cages. I also make sure I know where they are before I open the cage. If they are out in the open then I make slow calculated moves. They usually hunker down in corner and I can finish what I'm doing. I do all my maintanance work in the day when they are less active. If I need to move it from one enclosure to another I simply place a clear plastic bag over the containers opening and get them to go in the bag using the forceps. If they are in their hide I simply cover the hide opening with the bag and pull the whole thing out. I've never had one escape using these methods. They are pretty easy to work with and at times predictable (e.g they usually always run up).
Good Luck,
Mike

Tarantula

Arachnobaron
Old Timer
Remember to keep it cooler than other Poecilotheria. Between 20-25°C is fine.
:cool:

Vys

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
Highland species, or something like that..

Jakob

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
da_illest said:
why?>>>>>???>>>
They live in higher elevations than other Poecilotheria along with P. fasciata.

Later,

Jake

Martin H.

Arachnoangel
Old Timer
da_illest said:
why?>>>>>???>>>
see: