My 9 Florida scrub millipedes, Narceus gordanus

Gibson211

Arachnosquire
Hi! I ordered 4 of these guys from bugsincyberspace.com, then another 4 from Ken the bug guy, who was nice enough to give me an extra! Here are some pics of them and their 10 gallon enclosure.

Micrathena

Arachnoknight
Nice! I have no experience with millipedes but these look cool, would you recommend them to a beginner?

Smokehound714

Arachnoking
probably one of the easiest millipedes you could own. Adding sand to their enclosure might make them happier, though they look pretty comfy already haha.

Beautiful narceus species..

Gibson211

Arachnosquire
yeah i am just getting into the hobby and while it took me a bit to get used to theyre care, after you get everything setup its pretty steady from there

---------- Post added 04-04-2014 at 12:10 PM ----------

any tips on breeding them?

Cavedweller

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
Nice! I have no experience with millipedes but these look cool, would you recommend them to a beginner?
Yesss Micrathena, come to the millipede side. Their care is different from Ts but still quite easy.

probably one of the easiest millipedes you could own. Adding sand to their enclosure might make them happier, though they look pretty comfy already haha.
Sand? I had no idea! Is that something particular to this species or common to all millipedes?

Micrathena

Arachnoknight
Well,these replies seem encouraging, and I have a currently unused copy of Orin McMonigle's Millipeds in Captivity, so I might give it a shot! Are Narceus gordanus a good species to start with, or should I begin somewhere else?
Millipedes are one of those inverts I've always said I'd get around to eventually...:)

Cavedweller

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
That book is the TKG of millipede keeping as far as I know, very useful to have.