This hobby is getting dangerous!

Fishcrunch

Arachnosquire
So I'm a college student who has come to realization a few months ago that I can easily hide numerous tarantulas in my dorm room due to their space requirements as slings. One thing that I have noticed is that every time I buy a sling, I HAVE TO buy another one a couple weeks later. It's bad enough that I have to buy food in order to sustain myself over the weekend, now i'm dropping 30-50 bucks every 3 or so weeks on another tarantula! Sorry if the title seems a little misleading :biggrin:. As you can see my collection has grown to a modest 9 arachnids. I'm assuming everyone else on here has the same problem as myself?

Poec54

Arachnoemperor
So I'm a college student who has come to realization a few months ago that I can easily hide numerous tarantulas in my dorm room due to their space requirements as slings. One thing that I have noticed is that every time I buy a sling, I HAVE TO buy another one a couple weeks later. It's bad enough that I have to buy food in order to sustain myself over the weekend, now i'm dropping 30-50 bucks every 3 or so weeks on another tarantula! Sorry if the title seems a little misleading :biggrin:. As you can see my collection has grown to a modest 9 arachnids. I'm assuming everyone else on here has the same problem as myself?
Until you start breeding. Then you can get new spiders by selling and/or trading the slings you produce, so there's a point at which the more spiders you have, the less it costs. A number of people have collections that pay for themselves. Pays to focus and have goals.

pardozer

Arachnoknight
Old Timer
Yessir! I've bought 24 so far this year to bring my modest collection to 74.

oooo35980

Arachnosquire
I know what you mean, just remember slings grow, some of them grow quickly. You could end up needing more room than you might think, sooner than you think. Good luck, it's a rewarding hobby.

Fishcrunch

Arachnosquire