My new pink toe tarantula

Wubong

Arachnopeon
Hey guys, i'm new to this hobby and really am starting to enjoy it. I have not yet held my tarantula as I am still getting used to it.
My question is if this is a good enough tank/stuff in it for it. I keep the tempature of it room temp, and humidity around 60-70%. I do have a rain forest background that i'm putting on later, but for now just curios as to of I have everything needed.
That pic makes the tank a litter darker but it really isnt that dark, I have a heat lamp but it gets it to about 86 and I heard that frys the spider. I will take all constructive critisim. Sorry for my english.

---------- Post added 04-24-2014 at 05:28 PM ----------

I should also say that the substrate is damp, and since the spider is tropical, I assume it is used to it.

BobGrill

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
I would recommend using a taller tank since you're keeping an arboreal. Avics will often make a web in the upper corner of the enclosure, so its usually a good idea to get a tank that opens up from the front. Also get rid of the heat lamp. Tarantulas hate light, it will only stress it out. Also despite what many caresheets may say, Avics don't need damp substrate or lots of humidity. Just give it a full waterdish and don't bother with misting.

from my LG-P999 using Tapatalk 2

cold blood

Staff member
I wouldn't put an avic in an aquarium. The only ventilation is from the top, which seems mostly covered. The avics need good side ventilation, they live in trees with constant breezes. Don't overdue the humidity.

Like mentioned, you don't need to add supplemental heating, especially not with a heat lamp. And vertical space is more important than horizontal space. I have seen many that set an aquarium like yours on its side, dam the base and use it resting on its side.

ARACHNO-SMACK48

Arachnoknight