Poor man's arboreal enclosure for slings...

Buggidy

Arachnopeon
Well, as a college student I have to improvise a bit. Yes, those are upside down solo cups :sarcasm: The dome lid holds substrate, and the cup allows a good amount of climbing space. I like this design because it allows the sling to web up the top of the enclosure, and when I open them up to throw food in, I don't ruin the webbing. I'm expecting an A. versicolor, three S. calceatums, and one P. ornata in the mail soon. Any advice or changes you'd suggest are appreciated :)

From left to right: 2 A. versicolor enclosures (first is already in use, he loves it!), 1 P. ornata enclosure, 3 S. calceatum enclosures.

IMG_2890.jpg IMG_2891.jpg

awiec

Arachnoprince
Very cool, I personally use the tall salad containers that you can get potato salad in from a deli counter at stores; they are usually nice enough to sell them to me for 25 cents. I find that being broke in college makes you very creative.

Buggidy

Arachnopeon
Those would be perfect! I've always enjoyed DIY anyways.... Once I have the space and money I plan to build nicer enclosures instead of buying those horribly expensive ones...

shamilt1

Arachnopeon
Cool idea. Very creative. May also want to glue the cardboard base to the dome lid (if you haven't already) to make it more stable. I would also cut one (cardboard square) as a template for all other future arboreal enclosures.

Python

Arachnolord
Old Timer
I raised widows in those cups once? I'd get a huge milkshake and wash the cup. The ones I got had a hole in the top that I stuck a damp paper towel in. Just dropped water on it to water the ol' girls. To feep I just took it out, dropped a cricket in and replaced the paper towel

Buggidy

Arachnopeon
That's awesome! They do work super well for multiple things. And no worries, they are all glued securely to the cardboard. I will definitely take the template suggestion though, I always forget to do that.

Beary Strange

Arachnodemon