latrodectus hesperus sac help

guywithaspider

Arachnosquire
Old Timer
Recently i caught a L. Hesperus from the side of my house, here in Sparks Nevada. She was fairly chubby, so i thought she might be gravid, but was hoping that was not the case. Well, today i woke up to a lovely sac that she had laid. I have no experience raising true spiders, so i have no idea what to do. Should i move the sac outside, or should i hatch it out and attempt to sell the slings? i just don't know if i would be able to sell the slings after birth. Also if i should hatch them out, how do i do it? I only have experience with scorpions, and i know about rising T's, but don't know where to begin with widow. Any help is greatly black widow.jpg appreciated.

Smokehound714

Arachnoking
Fortunately, widow spiderlings are pretty easy to feed.

Just know that when her sac pops, you're going to have hundreds of babies. If I were to sell them, i'd collect about 10-20 of the slings, then let the rest of them disperse outside.
I'd rather raise them to adulthood, or at least the penultimate instar before attempting to sell them. A large collection of beautiful mature females will be easier to sell :]

guywithaspider

Arachnosquire
Old Timer
thats good advice, thank you. Should i let them pop in their mothers enclosure, or should i pull the sac at some point?

Python

Arachnolord
Old Timer
I raise mactans in 1 gallon jugs. I take the sacs and put them in a gallon jug and let them hatch on their own. I let them canabalize until they are big enough to separate and by then there are quite a few less and the ones I have left are the best of the best. It's always worked for me and it's easy.

Python

Arachnolord
Old Timer