Phormictopus behavior compared to Phlogius sp., Selenocosmia sp. & Chilobrachys sp.

antinous

Pamphopharaoh
Old Timer
I've recently been keeping T's, but I have been studying up on how to care for them for a few years now. I had started with three species, B. emilia, G. pulchripes and P. cancerides. Unfortunately the Brachypelma and Grammostola died while shipping so the Phormictopus is left. It's small, .75" and I'm planning to get some experience dealing with a defensive and fast T, which is why I picked this T. I'm a zoology student currently, and I want to pursue arachnology when I decide to get my masters, specifically for tarantulas, the species I mentioned in the title. And the first step I want to take is to own the species from the mentioned genus.

I was curious to see with people who own a Phormictopus sp. and any of the three other genus to see how the behavior is similar or different. How do they compare when it comes to defensiveness? How about their care, is it much more different? I understand that the others are more 'burrowers' from what I've read already and need a moister environment. Obviously their venom strength is worlds apart along tho aha. Would it be a big jump to go from a Phormictopus to a Phlogius/Selenocosmia/Chilobrachys? Which one of the three would be better to start off with?

Poec54

Arachnoemperor
Would it be a big jump to go from a Phormictopus to a Phlogius/Selenocosmia/Chilobrachys? Which one of the three would be better to start off with?