Baby crickets found in my Avics enclosure.

gobey

Arachnoknight
So today as I was trying to get my Avic to eat another superworm and was fishing the little guy out before he burrowed. I noticed there were little tiny micro Pinheads jumping around the substrate too. I saw maybe 5 total and killed about 3.

Is this a big issue? Will the micro crickets even survive to adulthood? They have no food. I'm guessing they must cannibalize themselves to make it this far.

The Avic is munching on a big male cricket right now. Here I thought I'd try to get female crickets to stop the chirping. But they're laying eggs in my spiders habitats. There's probably some in the L.P.s houses too.

Any suggestions.

I'm going to start digging around for info now.

Thanks guys.

philthyxphil

Arachnopeon
I have seen crickets lay eggs in the substrate before. I have never had any issues with these pin head crickets, and have never seen any survive past that stage. I'm new to the hobby, but that is just my experience.

gobey

Arachnoknight
Cool I figured they wouldn't be a huge issue, just want to be sure.

The Avic has by far the messiest enclosure of all my Ts.

Poec54

Arachnoemperor
Relax. Baby crickets can't do anything to a tarantula. They don't last long, usually drown in the water bowl.

gobey

Arachnoknight
I figured that must be the case. Given that female crickets lay eggs like crazy. Thanks Poec!

Faing

Arachnoknight
Old Timer
I've only replaced the substrate once when crickets started breeding. That's more because the Avic in that cage was one of the most mellow spiders I've had and it was at the time my "display" case. Every other time I waited for them to kill off. They can make a lot of pin head crickets for sure. It's not a worry typically just not aesthetic is the only issue.

gobey

Arachnoknight