First time Sling Care questions?

George18

Arachnopeon
Hello everybody, i've just treated myself to four lovely little slings and was just wondering if you guys could give me some advice on raising/keeping them, these aren't my first t's as i've got two juvenile's but it's my first time with slings and i've read that slings aren't the easiest to keep alive so i'm just a little worried i'll mess up.

I'll list the species i've just purchased

1 x Brachypelma smithi (1cm)
1 x Brachypelma albopilosum (1cm)
1 x Cyclosternum fasciatum (1cm)
1 x Hapalopus sp. "Colombia" (1cm)

I've just re-read the sling care section in the tarantula keeper's guide and just wanted some reassurance on a few things

1. Are my slings big enough to eat? I've seen people saying yes and no online
2. I'm going to water them by keeping one side of the substrate moist? is that a good way of doing it?
3. Are any of the slings hard to raise? from what i've read online they seem to be pretty easy?

Sorry if this is overkill but i'd really appreciate the advice/help as i worry far to much :p

Last edited:

awiec

Arachnoprince
1. I would say yes, anything past 2nd instar is ready to be a spider. I would pre-kill crickets and maybe give them a leg for a meal or even the whole cricket if it's smaller than the sling.
2. Yes just change up the moist spot every so often to discourage mold growth.
3. Pretty much all slings are easy to raise. Avics get a bad rap but they are not very hard. The brachys will grow slow so that is the only "challenge" I can forsee with them. The C.fasciatum I think are pretty hardy but fast. I personally have a H. sp Columbia juvie that I got the same size as yours and it was pretty easy to raise. They do like to bolt though but are very voracious eaters.

George18

Arachnopeon
1. I would say yes, anything past 2nd instar is ready to be a spider. I would pre-kill crickets and maybe give them a leg for a meal or even the whole cricket if it's smaller than the sling.