Need help with rehousing

magda101

Arachnopeon
I got my first Tarantula almost three weeks ago, so I'm very new to this.
She has midges in her tank and I want to clean it, but have no idea how to move her?Any tips or links to tutorials will be very helpful...

Kind regards,
Magda101

gobey

Arachnoknight
What kind of tarantula? This can alter your rehousing methods. You should have a catch cup, an artist's paintbrush, or long pair of tongs to maneuver the tarantula with. Ever catch bugs in cups as a kid? :)

milky

Arachnosquire
Old Timer
Go to youtube and type: tarantula rehousing

There is a lot of videos there.

Storm76

Arachnoemperor
Old Timer
The YT suggestion is one idea, or for example use a catchcup to put over her while you clean. Taking a T out of its enclosure "resets" them often, resulting in them having to get used to their enclosure once again.

awiec

Arachnoprince
Here are the steps I take with both OW and NW.
1) Get a work space that is clean without much clutter. A bathtub or a small clean room will work.
2) See where your T is and slowly open it's lid/door, if it starts to start running around or giving you a threat pose, then leave it a lone and try again later; if not go to the next step.
3) Get your catch cup/vial and slowly use a paint brush to nudge the tarantula into said container. You can tickle their abdomen or their legs to direct them.
4) Then put the cup into the new container, you can either let it come out on its own or gently nudge it out of the cup.
5) If possible put some of the old webbing in the new cage and leave the spider alone for a week or two. Don't bother feeding it during that time.