1st time with fame leg millipedes

robbh3

Arachnopeon
hi, im getting 10 flame leg millipedes either tomorrow or the next day. i have a few bumble bee's but im not to surre if i set them up the same way. and what size and deep of an enclosure do i need. i saw a display tank that water bowls in it; do i want to do this? and so i put extra food out such a certain veggies or fruit? and advice is crucial, please tell me anything. For i know this is a special breed and i do not want to do anything to injure or hurt them. thanks so much.

Aquarimax

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
I am no expert, but I did receive very helpful information from the seller- SDCPs- and several others before I got my flamelegs, which I have had for a month or so. Hopefully, others with more experience will also chime in. Basically, a plastic container or a glass aquarium both work. You will need some ventilation, but don't want to allow fungus gnats in. I drilled holes in the plastic part of an aquarium cover and filled the holes with aquarium filter floss for air flow. Based on the advice I received, I put about 3 inches of moist coco fiber down, and added an inch or two deep layer of oak and maple leaves I had collected in a nearby canyon. Prior to adding the leaves I cooked them in the oveven at 350 F for a half hour or so. Since then, I have learned that 145 F is better, as it allows some beneficial fungi and bacteria to survive, while killing off pests. I added some pieces of rotting maple wood on top of the leaves. I did not add a water bowl, but I do mist the enclosure with Distilled water. I have seen the pedelings munching on both leaves and wood.

I also add fruits and vegetables. So far, I have tried carrot, zucchini, apple, celery, and banana. All but the carrot disappeared fairly quickly...especially the banana.