About Orthoporus

CrawlinChaos

Arachnosquire
Hello everyone! So, I'm a relative newbie to the whole bug keeping thing (just passed my 1 year anniversary this August) and, for now, most of my interest is in keeping millipedes. I've acquired several species at this point, managed to keep most of them alive and successful bred two of them. But, sadly one of my favorite species has neither done that well for me or bred, namely Orthoporus ornatus "Texas Gold". I stared with 2 of them (my first bugs, actually!) and then picked up a 3rd in hopes of getting a male for breeding, which I did. However, the two original ones have since passed on to the great compost pile in the sky and the poor male has been left all alone. I'm here now because I'm at a turning point. I want to make a decision about whether to try to keep any more Orhtoporus or not. I've read a lot of conflicted things online about them: some people say their easy to care for, some people say their hard to care for, some people say they live a long time, some people say they tend to die off quickly, etc, etc. So, given that I know there are number of experienced 'peders on here, I thought this would be the best place to come for answers. Anything you can tell me about your experiences with Orthoporus care and breeding would be greatly appreciated. I think the Golds are some of the biggest, prettiest, most easy going millipedes around (at least mine were) and I hate to have to write them off as a species to keep in my collection. Thanks!

Cavedweller

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
My condolences for your loss.

I've kept Orthoporus ornatus for over a year with no losses. I keep them the same as any other millipede, but water a little less and drill extra ventilation holes in their tub. What was your setup like?