Constructive Criticism for a Beginner

Shmotz77

Arachnopeon
Hello everyone. My name is Chris and I am currently new to the addiction called "tarantula keeping". Just yesterday I received an absolutely stunning female Chilean Rose from Jaime's Tarantulas. I decided to name her Susie. Before ordering her I did plenty of research and even bought Stanley Schultz book and read it the past month. Now, the reason I'm creating this thread is because I would like some constructive criticism as to what I'm doing (or not doing) right. I would be forever grateful to hear your opinions as I wish to have my first tarantula keeping experience be the best.

Cage & Substrate-
I am currently keeping her in an 8x8x14 cage also ordered from Jamie. The substrate is Coco-fiber.
[/URL][/IMG]
[/URL][/IMG]
I currently have her cage on my dresser with the curtains of the window next to her open (no sunlight is directly hitting her). What concerns me though about her cage is the hide. The way it is shaped makes it impossible to place it directly flush against the wall, meaning she can enter and exit through both sides. Should I block off one end with substrate? Does it really need only one opening?

Food-
Starting next week I will start feeding her some Dubia Roaches, as I've heard they are better than crickets. I plan on feeding her one a week.

Temperature & Humidity-