Genus Listing with Locations?

Potential

Arachnopeon
I'm new here and having a bit of trouble locating some information so I apologize if this is a stupid question.

Is there a list of genuses somewhere stating whether they are NW or OW? I'm VERY new to the world of T's and am researching every aspect I can in order to make the most educated decision possible. I see a lot of T's listed under their scientific name, but I'm having difficulty knowing if the species being discussed is NW or OW. I'm also seeing a lot of dicussion about particular genuses, which is confusing for me, as I'm still trying to familiarize myself with NW/OW behavior, defense mechanisms, quickness, etc.

CBickert

Arachnopeon
A quick response would be to go to www.swiftinverts.com as he lists spiders as OW/NW and AB/TR. Since you are a beginner he should carry most of the species you would be looking at getting. Hopefully someone else can chime in and give another source, possibly more comprehensive.

Beary Strange

Arachnodemon
Where the tarantula is from should turn up in your research (if not, you're not researching enough) and that will tell you if it's New or Old World. NW are from the Americas, OW is Africa all the way across through Asia and Australia.

Potential

Arachnopeon
Wonderful CBickert! That was very helpful! Thank you so much!!!!!

Belle Fury-part of my research is reading through bite reports, members experiences, etc. I know that all T's are individuals, but I also know that certain species are more likely to be defensive quicker than others. I'm considering all aspects when making my decision.

IMO-the most accurate information will be from personal experiences verifying information found on the web and in books.

Last edited:

xirxes

Arachnosquire
Old Timer
Wonderful CBickert! That was very helpful! Thank you so much!!!!!