New to Tarantulas- Some questions!!

The Aquarist

Arachnopeon
Hello!

Well, I a got a tarantula. I got it as a "pink toe tarantula." I was told that it's a good beginner species. I researched it, and it looks like the guyana pink toe tarantula. AI mist it every day, just to keep everything moist, and in its cage is a small water bowl, and some logs for it to hide. It has a legspan of about 2 inches. Now, to the questions:

I got it on Wednesday. I also watched it poop on Wednesday. I put in a cricket today, and it doesn't seem hungry. Is this normal?
Also, I just noticed that it has only 7 legs!:confused: Will it grow them back?
Lastly, will it chew through screens? This has me worried. The petstore lady told me this absolutely won't happen, but I read that they can chew through metal. I then got it a new cage with a stronger top.

I have a lot of experience with fish, and I even own a frog, but I am completely new to tarantulas.

Thanks!

BobGrill

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
You don't need to mist. Too much moisture can actually kill them. This makes the air in the cage stuffy which usually results in a dead tarantula. Also, are you aware that these guys are arboreals, and therefore require a tall cage and a vertical hide?

ratluvr76

Arachnodemon
Can we get a picture of your new 8 legged friend and its enclosure? It will help others to help you get a good start in the hobby and help make your first T keeping experience a good one.
Welcome to the hobby! Stick around, read and browse the threads, there is a wealth of knowledge and experience here that you s imply wont find anywhere else ime.
Nice to meet you. :)

Poec54

Arachnoemperor