G porteri Babies on the way?????

keeper2013

Arachnopeon
Got this off craigslist. A 12x12x12 Exo-Terra enclosure, substrate, waterdish, humidity and temp gauges and half log hide. Along with it was what looks like a very gravid G porteri. His GF bought it all for him from a pet shop 2 months ago, so it's probably a recent WC and sure looks ready to pop. He said he only fed her 2 crickets a week. Oh, paid $40and that thing up in the corner, thats the new owner, Miss OBT

Attachments

ratluvr76

Arachnodemon
Great find! Your little OBT is adorable and your porteri is beautiful. I'm not experienced enough to posite an opinion on whether she's gravid or not, but here's to wishing you good luck! I'm a firm believer in getting as many captive bred specimens in the hobby as possible so we can stop harvesting wild spiders in ANY and all species. ;)

tweakz

Arachnosquire
Looks like a fat rosie to me I don't think it necessarily means she's gravid.

pyro fiend

Arachnoprince
Looks like a fat rosie to me I don't think it necessarily means she's gravid.
agreed and with 2 cricks a week for 2 months.. that can fatten her up nicely too.. i say this,or well claim i know this :), because when i got my G.rosea i found her a little skinny for my taste. so to fix that she ate 3 sometimes 4 male dubias a week for maybe a month. and whent from a WC shrunk abd. to a pretty plump gal [i overdid it] within that 4.5 weeks.. shes now back on a 10day diet on med-large nymphs.and is nice and normal XD..

so i say its a waiting game

keeper2013

Arachnopeon
agreed and with 2 cricks a week for 2 months.. that can fatten her up nicely too.. i say this,or well claim i know this :), because when i got my G.rosea i found her a little skinny for my taste. so to fix that she ate 3 sometimes 4 male dubias a week for maybe a month. and whent from a WC shrunk abd. to a pretty plump gal [i overdid it] within that 4.5 weeks.. shes now back on a 10day diet on med-large nymphs.and is nice and normal XD..