communal scorpions??

Ultum4Spiderz

Arachnoemperor
Arachnosupporter
I was wondering if u have a big endless food supply if any affordable scorpion species are communal:biggrin:
T's generally do bad in this set up, I was wondering if scorps were any different.

I am a noob on scorp's only owned 1 male emp. Sad about its death:(

thanks.

pannaking22

Arachnoemperor
Old Timer
Pandinus and Heterometrus generally do well together, though you need a good sized enclosure if you are housing several. Tityus and Centruroides are also good choices, though they are much more venomous. They are smaller though and as long as they have plenty of vertical space they do well enough. US Centruroides typically go for very cheap and look nice.

If you are new to scorpions though it may be best to stick with something simple and try again with Pandinus or Heterometrus and work your way up from there.

Biollantefan54

Arachnoking
Old Timer
Vaejovis carolinianus is a very good communal. I have had a colony going for about 4 months of about 38 of them and have lost 3 due to me kind of slacking on feeding for a little bit. They are a tiny scorpion and don't need huge tanks at all, their venom is mild also. They are a very interesting little scorp.

Ultum4Spiderz

Arachnoemperor
Arachnosupporter
Vaejovis carolinianus is a very good communal. I have had a colony going for about 4 months of about 38 of them and have lost 3 due to me kind of slacking on feeding for a little bit. They are a tiny scorpion and don't need huge tanks at all, their venom is mild also. They are a very interesting little scorp.
Are they cheap? Maybe ill keep an eye our for some next spring. Winter shipping often is too pricey.,
I got a pretty large dubia colony, food will not be an issue.:biggrin::biggrin: Practically unlimited food supply.

Small Size makes them easier to house.

Tongue Flicker

Arachnobaron