How to properly heat an enclosure?

FlyingOstrich

Arachnopeon
My b smithi died two about two months ago and I think one of the reasons might be because I didn't heat the enclosure properly. I'm planning to get another T soon so can somebody give me some tips on heating? I'm a super noob by the way :)

Ultum4Spiderz

Arachnoemperor
Arachnosupporter
What is your room temperature? what size was your b smithi
This is probably one of the toughest species, but cold could kill any T.

Ultum4Spiderz

Arachnoemperor
Arachnosupporter
my room temperature was usually 70 degrees F. An the smithi was about an inch long.
Yeah that a good temperature, my room occasionally drops to 68. Did it have enough water? wet substrate. You could just explain how you took care of your b smithi.

I have had slings die for no apparent reason also.

FlyingOstrich

Arachnopeon
I kept it in a pill jar 4.5 cm wide I fed it crickets every two weeks. Also I just figured out why my Taratula might have died. I fed the crickets these weird oat things that probably had calcium. And I asked the lps worker if its ok for a tarantula (which apparently is something you should never do). She said yes. My smithi stopped eating for a while for some reason. It looked like it was in premolt. then it started looking really weak an eventually died.

KcFerry

Arachnosquire
Sometimes they just die!
Compared to spiders in the wild, captive bred and kept tarantula's have a very low mortality rate. Since we give them steady food, water, warmth and no predators, the weaker (which would have otherwise died off) last a bit longer, but sometimes seem predisposed to die anyway.
Doesn't sound like you did anything wrong.

JMHO,
Sorry for the loss.:unhappy:

vespers

Arachnodemon
Old Timer