Cave Terrarium needs Inhabitant

Zeus515

Arachnopeon
Hey everyone, I'm new to the hobby and I really wanted to try my hand at making a custom vivarium that had a sweet cave area. Past that, I haven't figured out what to house in it. I was leaning toward a tailess whip scorpion (Tanzanian) because I think they're cool, or a GBB because I thought that a ton of webs mixed in with the stalactites and stalagmites would be awesome! However I wanted to ask before I put anything in it what people suggestions would be.

It's an ExoTerra 12"Lx12"Wx18"H. I realize that I've created a situation that will make it difficult to maintain humidity in the enclosure, but the top will have soil and some plants to help combat that problem and the bottom of the cave features a pool of water. There is also a passage between cave and the area on top where the plants will be (any suggestions on plants?).

In addition, I would like to ask what people would recommend using to "seal" the tile grout that I used while making this to ensure the Tarantula or critter would be exposed to any harmful chemicals.

I've posted pictures of what it looks like so far and hopefully will get some progress on it tomorrow. Gimme some feedback on what you think! Criticism is taken best if it is constructive cave 8.jpg cave 7.jpg 5.jpg cave6.jpg CAve3.jpg

Zeus515

Arachnopeon
Thank you! I'm hoping to get more grout on there. maybe 2 coats to make sure it stays on there and hit any areas I may have missed. Do you have any constructive criticism for me?

Thanks again!

14pokies

Arachnoprince
thats really cool bro i cant wait to see it finished.. i saw an episode of nat geo that featured assassin bugs feeding on sleeping bats in a cave...a group of assassin bugs would look pretty cool in there..

RomanBuck

Arachnopeon
Seal it with polyurethane. Thats how people seal it for reptiles and it is safe but I would let it cure for a week or so.

Zeus515

Arachnopeon