Is this temperature okay for a tarantula, or too cold?

CobaltRose

Arachnopeon
Hi guys, I am new to the tarantula hobby and am due to get my first tarantula, a Brachypelma Albopilosum, next Tuesday. I have already set up the enclosure, but have run into some problems (at least, I think it's a problem. I may be wrong) with heating the damn thing. It's pretty cold here in the UK at the minute, and I can't for the life of me seem to get the temperature of the enclosure above 19C (66F). Then again, I only have a dial thermometer attached to the side of the enclosure to go on, and I understand they're not exactly renowned for their accuracy. Nonetheless, I am concerned that 66F is a little cool for a tarantula. I did use a heating mat (attached to the side, NOT to the bottom of the enclosure) but that made little difference. Plus, I have heard the heat mats are not great anyways, so I have stopped using it. The humidity in the tank is fine (fluctuates between 70 and 80%), I just need the darn temperature to rise! Or, is 66F okay for a fairly small tarantula (it's not a teeny tiny sling, but it's pretty small, about 2" in DLS, according to the breeder). I don't want the poor thing to freeze! If it isn't, what else can I do to increase the temperature? I've already turned the radiator up in my room. There are quite a few ventilation holes in the lid, would taping some of them up help? I'm a compete newbie, so any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

Hannah

---------- Post added 11-22-2014 at 09:54 AM ----------

Oh, and not sure if this is relevant, but I've already purchased crickets in preparation for my T's arrival, and they're thriving, so the colder temperature doesn't seem to be bothering them.

Angel Minkov

Arachnobaron