breeding question

chevyboy92

Arachnopeon
i'm fairly new to the hobby and have collected 10 species already, i'm going to try my luck at breeding my b.boehmei and i was wondering how long after mating should i expect an egg sac? i've been looking online and haven't found anything. any help would be appreciated!!

archaeosite

Arachnosquire
The last post in this topic lists 51 days until a sac. That sounds about right from what I've seen of others' reports. Sac times seem to vary from one month to several months, however. You can look through the other brachypelma reports to get a general idea. :)

cold blood

Staff member
i'm fairly new to the hobby and have collected 10 species already, i'm going to try my luck at breeding my b.boehmei and i was wondering how long after mating should i expect an egg sac? i've been looking online and haven't found anything. any help would be appreciated!!
Its not as much expecting a sac as hoping for a sac:) Times can vary.

Poec54

Arachnoemperor
51 days? You can wait months, could be a year. Males don't necessarily mature on schedule in captivity because the there's few, if any natural triggers (temps, rain, day length, etc). They mature based on the temps and food we give them. We pair up males when they're fresh, but the captive females are on their own cycles. These don't always match up cleanly. Plus they're used to certain temps, rain, and foods post-mating while they're developing eggs. There's so many variables. And regardless of any reports, you probably can't replicate what one breeder does with his spiders, not that you have enough info to do that anyways.

I've never had a sac laid within 3 months of mating. The average is more like 5 to 9 months.

fuzzyavics72

Arachnobaron
Old Timer