G.rosea.... New to the hobby

bklyncg

Arachnopeon
Hey all, im new to keeping T's.... im currently setting up a home for female G.rosea im planning to get. I have done a ton of research and hopefully have the basics down. I just have a few questions if you guys can maybe help out...
I have a standard 10 gal, aprox 6 inches of an eco earth, organic potting soil and dry spagnum moss mix as substrate.

Questions are

1) i would like to have some decorations in the enclosure.. maybe some rocks, logs/vines and a couple of pothos plants. Would the T mind these things or should I have a bare enclosure with just a hide and water dish.

2) I was planning on making the substrate into a slope of some sort.. would this be an issue?

3) if the pothos plant are ok to have should I plant them with the pot or directly into the substrate?

Thanks for any help guys... im so looking foward to getting my new T.

Formerphobe

Arachnoking
Old Timer
Here is an excellent place to start:
http://people.ucalgary.ca/~schultz/roses.html

Some decorations are fine, keeping in mind that the tarantula may move them about and/or dig under them. Nothing with sharp edges that the tarantula could fall onto.

A slope is also fine. But, the ceiling height should be no more than 1.5 x tarantula legspan to avoid falls. Also, if the ceiling height is too short, the T could get additional leverage to push the top off the enclosure. (Depends on type of enclosure you have.)

Some plants may be okay. G. roseas are from one of the most arid areas on earth. They abhor damp substrate and regular high humidity could cause a sick spider. Spider may dig the plant up, too. I know of people who place potted plants in enclosures of arid species. Generally more trouble than it's worth, IMO.

Congrats on your new T.

miserykills

Arachnosquire