Blue Tarantula

Mystery33

Arachnopeon
I'm in the market for a Blue T! I do t have any nor have I even seen one live, but besides P Metallica Which blue T has the most natural color without being under a white light?

BobGrill

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
Well what's your experience level with tarantulas so far? Have you kept any Old World species yet? P.metallica, H.lividum, and L.violaceopes (females at least) are all very beautiful blue tarantulas. If you're still a novice, I'd recommend sticking with a Green Bottle Blue. In my opinion, unlike H.lividum, the blue on the GBB stands out more under normal lighting.

Mystery33

Arachnopeon
I'm actually a novice! I've kept tarantulas since I was 8 years old but those were just Texas Tans, they're all over the streets over here in the summers. I may not have kept them but have done a lot of studying and research. Of course seeing them in a picture is a lot different then seeing them live. I was just wondering which one has more of a natural blue instead of under a light or camera flash!!!

Poec54

Arachnoemperor
We recommend people work their way up in stages with species, which helps reduce bites and escapes (especially if there's other people or cats and dogs living with you). I'd like to think you'll rule out anything old world, as they're at the opposite end of the spectrum from the Aphonopelma you're used to. It may not end well.

Choosing species by color isn't the best idea (there's other important considerations), but if you're intent on it, Chromatopelma is probably the best for you.

cold blood

Staff member
If you can find Thrixopelma cyaneolum, it would fit the bill perfectly for a novice. Beautiful blue they are and very tolerant, good eaters, too.

Squidies

Arachnopeon
Choosing species by color isn't the best idea (there's other important considerations), but if you're intent on it, Chromatopelma is probably the best for you.