Feeding roaches

TheHonestPirate

Arachnoknight
I have been feeding pre killed mealworms to my slings and i recently bought a starter colony of lobster roaches. I tried switching over to feedig roaches and none of my T's or centipedes will take them. I left the roaches in there for about ten days and the predatory bugs didn't touch them at all. My question is, how large should the roach me in comparison to the T? My largest sling is about 1.25" and the smallest is about .5". Thanks.

cold blood

Staff member
Not all t's will eat roaches. I have zero pede experience, so I can't speak on that.

14pokies

Arachnoprince
Try cutting the head of and splitting the roaches down the middle and see if your smaller ts will scavenge feed off them...if your ts still don't accept the roaches you can withhold food for two or so weeks and then offer the roaches they should be hungry enough to take them at that point..
It can be tough to get some ts to take roaches just be patient..
As for the size of roaches offered, feed them roaches that are similar in size to there abdomens.

skippydude

Arachnobaron
I have about 57 or so different species of tarantulas. They all eat roaches, I have yet to find a species that won't :?

skippydude

Arachnobaron
How big should the roach be in comparison?
About the size of the tarantulas carapace is the perfect meal size.

B vagans and G pulchripes will eat pre killed prey, so if your roaches are too big you can cut them into the appropriate size for feeding

TheHonestPirate

Arachnoknight
Theyre mediocre climbers. A little vaseline or mineral oil and they cant get out. I havent seen any escape yet. And Kyle from Roachcrossing said they arent very good climbers and that the slick barrier should stop them efficiently.

samatwwe

Arachnobaron
Old Timer