A seemanni husbandry

Ellenantula

Arachnoking
In another thread, it was commented that my substrate looked dry (and it is - sahara dry) so I read some old threads here.
I didn't find a consensus re: moisture required.
Maybe they are hardy enough that moisture isn't a biggie.

I, perhaps wrongfully, believed Aphonopelma were kept similarly to Grammastola, hence my husbandry so far.

That said, some threads recommend a light misting of substrate, some recommend very damp substrate like a swamp-dweller might require, and some recommend dry.
Some simply say a water dish is enough (as I have done) but others suggest deliberately overfilling dish to dampen substrate to outright making substrate wet.

Could some experienced Aphonopelma keepers advise. (not just on moisture requirements -- but any sort of help, based on past successes with these).
I love her aggressive feeding response - wow!
I am new to this T, mine is a sub-adult female (4.5" maybe less) - not sure how big they ultimately get.
Here's my girl:
aaaaaseemanni.jpg

Poec54

Arachnoemperor
They're from Central America, and appreciate slightly moist substrate, unlike most of the genus which lives in dry regions in the SW US and NW Mexico. Misting adult/subadult T's is pretty much pointless. The humidity sources should be the water bowl & substrate, with the ventilation adjusted accordingly. I don't overfill water bowls as it keeps that area moist and promotes mites and mold. It's better to sprinkle a little water randomly throughout the cage.

Adults get 5 to 6". Males are scarce.

The cage does look dry, and the substrate too shallow.

There's no such thing as a 'swamp dweller' in the tarantula world. Let's put that term to rest, permanently.

Ellenantula

Arachnoking
Thank you.
Looks like I get to play in some dirt today,
If I can make mud pies, I'll assume I went too damp.

awiec

Arachnoprince
Thank you.
Looks like I get to play in some dirt today,
If I can make mud pies, I'll assume I went too damp.