Avic. Mettalica

King Sparta

Arachnosquire
Guys, at the expo I just got B. auratum, B.vagans for free and a A. Metallica. This is my first time keeping pink toes so can anyone offer me any tips?
And if this was in another thread, can someone put the link?
Thanks

BobGrill

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
Dry substrate and lots of cross ventilation. These are the two most important things. Being arboreal, they do well with a tall enclosure with a slab of cork bark tilted against one side of the enclosure. I like to include some plastic plants or leaves to encourage them to web.

King Sparta

Arachnosquire
Mine is about an inch specimen. Currently in a really tall pill jar. What do u mean by cross ventilation? And I thought the needed good humidity? Not exactly happy right now. My B.vagans died in a molt and the new one and the B. auratum all have dark spots on abdomens and might be in premolt. But they were both eating. Premolt?
and pls explain cross ventilation.
Thanks

fuzzyavics72

Arachnobaron
Old Timer
I kinda agree with Bob. Cross ventilation is key, but he's in Florida where it's super humid. King, you and I are up where it's super cold and dry. I've only lost avicularia slings to being too dry never because the enclosure is soaked. I also own practically every species of avicularia being sold in the US. I suggest keeping your enclosure moist, so the spiderling doesn't dry up and die.

One of my favorite sp. These are unlike any in avicularia in terms of mannerisms. They aren't as skittish as most avics. A great massive fuzzy snow capped Avic!

If it's too stuffy in the enclosure avics haven been know to become largathic and die.

King Sparta

Arachnosquire
Thanks. But what about the premolt thing? dark spots but great appetite.Any ideas?
Thanks,
King sparta
(ps pls subsribe to my youtube channel it is also called king sparta)

BobGrill

Arachnoprince
Old Timer