Parents won't let me have more T's!

The Only Python

Arachnopeon
Hi guys! I am a grade 10 student from Canada, and my collection currently consists of 14 T's (mostly NW terrestrials). My parents keep telling me that I have too many and am never allowed to get more. I think that as long as I am able to provide care for hem without being overwhelmed it is fine. I work at a reptile shop so I pay for them all myself, and for their food/enclosures. All of you know how addicting this hobby is, and how much it would suck to be given a limit on tarantulas! How can I convince my parents that it's not as big of a deal as they are making it.

IHeartTs

Arachnobaron
Move out. Parents are parents. Even when you move out they still tell you what to do. Try sitting them down and having a MATURE conversation. If they don't budge, you'll probably have to wait. Oh the joys of teenage life. It'll be over before you know it, believe me.

Biollantefan54

Arachnoking
Old Timer
I happen to be 15 and in 10th grade as well! My parents don't really mind. My main thing was getting them to allow roaches in the house lol. But, my parents don't have any intention of setting a limit, I am at 24 tarantulas now and they went to the last expo with me. I would do what IHeartTs said and just talk to them. Pretty much the only thing I do is talk about some kind of arachnid, I guess it shows them how much it means to me or something so they don't mind.

Ashton

Arachnoknight
15 here too, also in 10th but my parents said I couldn't have more and now they're helping me get containers for when I breed some species. Persistence is key here, do well in school, do your chores and behave. That usually gets the trick done. And my T collection is smaller due to centipedes, isopods, roaches and mantises. Also one lonely Lactrodectus hesperus that hangs out in her vial all day.

fuzzyavics72

Arachnobaron
Old Timer