Drilling Holes Into Glass?

El Consciente

Arachnopeon
So I've got two rapidly growing arboreal slings (P. irminia, P. regalis) and recently bought two tall glass enclosures that should easily accommodate them for the next year or two. There is currently no cross-ventilation in the enclosure - it's solid glass on all four sides. It is not an exoterra.

I'd like to get some holes drilled around the top of each enclosure however I have no experience drilling through glass...I've heard putting duct tape on the glass and drilling through the tape can reduce the likelihood of pressure cracks, but I'd prefer not to have to learn through trial-and-error here :)

I'd like to hear how you DIYers out there successfully drill holes into your glass enclosures...tricks, tips, techniques, etc.

Thanks!!

BossRoss

Arachnosquire
There are plenty of good videos on youTube about this.

I had to learn by trial and error and you might still too. The fact that the it's not flat glass you can place on a solid surface makes it more difficult than normal.

1. Buy a decent glass drill bit(s). You might need to drill a pilot hole first.
2. Ensure you have a drill that has multi speed function
3. Submerge the enclosure in water, with the end you want to drill just under the surface. (Helps with heat dispersion)
4. Tape the area you are drilling(if you feel like it)
5. Drill slowly when you start and when you near the end(you will know you near the end when the sound changes)
6. Do not apply too much pressure when drilling-this is the tough part-especially when you consider the object and amount of holes needed.
7. Do this on a day when you patience is at it's best.

The Snark

Dumpster Fire of the Gods
Old Timer