Euathlus sp Red

killainstinct

Arachnopeon
Hello All,

First time t keeper here.

Did a fair amount of research and reading up before I decided to buy a t and ended up with one of these beauties after much consideration. Bought as an adult at about 5-6 years. I bought it from thespidershop retailer in the uk (online) and it should be female, although I am aware it can be difficult to determine sex at the best of times.

When I purchased it as a kit it came with a Large Exo-terra faunarium. It took a damn lot of substrate to fill it to a level where a fall would not hurt my T!

My question is guys what would be an appropriate sized container for her? I have some pictures but unfotunately am at work at this moment in time so can' t upload just yet (Data protection laws :mad:)

I have noticed she tends to climb and move around a lot, as a newbie i'm not sure if this is natural or not. I control the temperature and Humidity well and keep it within the range stated on the care sheet. However I have noticed a few weird things.

A) She does not use the hide I have provided for her, instead she will move to the corner of the enclosure and wedge herself into the corner with her legs close to her body. From the reading I have done so far this looks like a bad sign?

B) I read everywhere that they are a docile species, anytime I open the lid of the enclosure she is immediately on her way out to investigate I have occasionallylet her wander around on the floor! But when i try and check her mood very often I receive no threat posture whatsoever, she just turns around and attacks the brush (it is a tiny brush and i use VERY light strokes).

I would highly appreciate any advice you guys can give me.

I will get some pictures posted up as soon as I leave work.

Thank You

scott99

Arachnoknight
it probably stress out, you only need a shoes box for an enclosure. it sounds like you have a defensive T, attacking the brush like that.

Roosterbomb

Arachnopeon