C. elegans husbandry

Angel Minkov

Arachnobaron
Hello. I am finally going to get C. elegans slings and I was wondering several things about their husbandry. As far as I know, they're burrowers and their substrate should be moist. Feeding is basic and pretty much like all other Ts, except the prey size. What I was wondering is how much time it takes for both genders to mature? How, for the life of little spiders, am I supposed to sex these guys from early to make plans on breeding. I'll be getting 3 or 4 slings. Any breeding info would be appreciated.

Fins

Arachnosquire
Old Timer
I can can only give a bit of help. My C. ritae MM took around 20 months to hook out. Male coloration appeared in the molt immediately before he hooked out. Unfortunately I've no experience with females. Hopefully someone else will chime in.

pyro fiend

Arachnoprince
from my understanding on this SP. is that its ofcourse a dwarf, and is from a tropical climate, so kinda moist but not dripping.
also if your planning on that entire group to mate.. think again males will mature out way before your females do.. however time depends.. fin says his male hooked at 20 months but with different species, me and a friend got the male may hook out in as little as 10 months. it all depends on the temp, how its fed, how much.. litterally giving an amount of time is rolling dice.. and the fm will take minimum of 18months for most sp imo and thats if shes kept hot, fed often and a fast grower...

the rest ill leave to the actual c. ele keepers :p

pokie99

Arachnosquire