Is my centipede molting

tonypace2009

Arachnoknight
Old Timer
I have over 4" scolopendra heros castaneceps centipede that is laying straight and pulsating lifting head and tail at the same time. I am new to centipedes but this behavior resembles the pulsating I see tarantulas do during a molt. Is this molting behavior?https://vimeo.com/134805866

---------- Post added 07-29-2015 at 12:39 AM ----------

Ok checked on my centipede appears to be greyish something that appears to be coming out posterior end is it possible this is a female laying eggs? I don't want to move enclosure to get a better look. So I guess I'll just have to wait and see.

Last edited:

tonypace2009

Arachnoknight
Old Timer
No this was the small 4 1/2 inch one that used to move the wood around and escaped. I recovered it but this is what it started doing. Just pulsating. Now my large centipede is getting thick and didn't eat today it was laying out straight also is this a sign of molt coming up?

Mastigoproctus

Centiman
No this was the small 4 1/2 inch one that used to move the wood around and escaped. I recovered it but this is what it started doing. Just pulsating. Now my large centipede is getting thick and didn't eat today it was laying out straight also is this a sign of molt coming up?
Not really, mine typically hide before a molt. How much have you fed it how often and what kind of food? Also how moist is your enclosure?

tonypace2009

Arachnoknight
Old Timer
I feed twice a week about 3 to 4 crickets depending on size of crickets. It's staying at the moist end of aquarium. The main reason I was thinking a molt was conning up is because its getting pretty thick. I ran out of crickets and the centipede went 8 days without feeding this last time but still wasn't interested in eating. Could be just full but its also on occasion laying straight out not curled like when sleeping. I might just be pariniod after watching my smaller centipede die.

arachnothing

Arachnopeon