Hadrurus arizonensis?

Khagra

Arachnosquire
Been thinking about picking up two from a local place.
Does anyone have resources to a good care guide for Hadrurus arizonensis?

I was hoping to find something as detailed as this because i like to over-prepare and know EVERYTHING about the species first, but have had little luck on finding very in depth stuff on this species. :p

Arachnomaniac19

Arachnolord
Give it deep substrate made out of a mix of clay and sand of at least 6" deep. I'd suggest around 8". Personally I'd say it should be a ratio of two parts clay and one part sand, but I've never done that before. If it's not an adult give it some heat. A 50 watt infrared bulb should do the trick. If it's an adult it will be fine at room temperature. These guys seem to have problems molting without heat. I'd feed it every week or when it looks a little thin. I'd chose a medium dubia roach, one superworm, or one or two crickets.

These guys have a weaker sting than some scorpions. The sting report section has good info on that. It's also said to be a more defensive species than your standard Pandinus or Heterometrus species.

Good luck with your scorpion. I'm hoping to get one of these soon.

Khagra

Arachnosquire
Everything I've been reading about them says they're fairly aggressive and will sting readily. At the shop I was at today - They opened the tank they were keeping their hairies in. Some skittered away, but several of them seemed not to care that they were being disturbed - even when owner pushed one out of the way with their bare hands to pick up some uneaten food. Is this a a cause to worry if the scorpions seem docile (maybe lethargic) I don't know, didn't watch them long enough to really know, but they seemed VERY calm.

edit; also thanks for the above info. They seem pretty easy to care for overall. :> Will probably be buying adults. I stress to much about the possibility of molts going wrong etc.

Arachnomaniac19

Arachnolord