African Baboon spider

RoseHair

Arachnopeon
As i have poster before i am rather new to spiders. I bought my first (rose hair) and now i am looking at another one. It is a very small African Baboon spider, well i think it was african, ill have to look again. Is this a good spider for a beginer. How is it compared to my rose hair?

priZZ

Arachnodemon
Old Timer
I think Your new spider is Citharischius crawshayi, a very slow growing and agressive spider. Agressive if You see it, because there is little chances to see it often. He always hides in his burrow, and actually coming out in the night.

Also very big, about 8 cm body if adult female.

RoseHair

Arachnopeon
So just a little bigger than 3 inches fully grown? as of now it is probly 3-1/3 to 4 cm big only. So it is agresive and wouldnt be a good spider for a begginer like me?

priZZ

Arachnodemon
Old Timer
I would say, every spider is perfect for a beginner, but handle them with respect, patients, and good care.

In my opinion there is no beginner-spider, or just for advanced keepers...

morda

Arachnobaron
Old Timer
priZZ - and what about a noob buying Stroamtopelma ? :D

Crawshayi is a cool spider. You can buy also P. murinus or some Ceratogyrus sp. They are cool but You need to be carefull with them.

Citharischius

Arachnosquire
Old Timer
priZZ said:
I think Your new spider is Citharischius crawshayi, a very slow growing and agressive spider. Agressive if You see it, because there is little chances to see it often. He always hides in his burrow, and actually coming out in the night.

Also very big, about 8 cm body if adult female.

Aggresive is not the right word to use . This spider is just defensive .
I've got a fully grown adult female , and she's not aggresive at all .
When I bought her , I asked to guy if he could show me how she would react on an interruption . She was just reacting as any other african spider . "Put your hands up , in the air !" {D