Beginner

marebear

Arachnopeon
I am a beginner in the spider world and I was wondering, what is the best spider to start off with?

Lochala

Arachnobaron
Old Timer
I believe the Grammostola pulchra are the best pet spiders. They are a docile species, get up to 6 inches long, and their velvety black color is quite nice. I started out with the Greenbottle Blue tarantula, Chromatopelma cyanopubences. They are the parrots of the tarantula world; Adults have cerulean blue chelicera and legs, an orange and black abdomen with orange setae, and a green carapace. They are easy to care for but can be skittish.
Hope this helps,
Tim Lochala

BlkCat

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
I started with a G. Rosea. Easy to care for and hardy. She was very docile. I then moved on to getting a avicularia versicolor. He was docile aswell, but a little skittish. If u breathed on him, he would run. They are aboreal and a little harder to care for because of the humidity and vent requirements.
I have read that Chaco golden knees and pink zebra beauties are great for beginners aswell. I have never had either one though.

BlkCat

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
BTW, Welcome to the boards!! :)
Dont forget there is a search function. Just type in the name of whatever T u are interested in and u will find alot of info. Have Fun!!!

usumbaraboy

Arachnobaron
Old Timer
well i started out with an obt or usumbara baboon dont know how to spell the scientific name. another good one is the stripe knee or a seemanii they are a great t to start with. but if u want a t that gets big fast try a l parahybana. they get to i think 8-10 inches and are a little skittish but they are a great t to look at. but welcome to the boards and yeah just use the search function and u can find any t ur looking for

Cigarman

Arachnoknight
Old Timer