Basic arboreal feeding question

Windchaser

Arachnoking
Old Timer
I did a search and didn't really find an answer to my question. I have lots of experience with terrestrials, but none with arboreals. Anyway, I got my first arboreal (P. regalis) yesterday and was wondering when you feed an arboreal, do you simply place the cricket in their enclosure? I mean, does the T come down to get it or is it necessary to get the prey to the T somehow.

Thanks

pandinus

Arachnoking
Old Timer
is there a peice of bark or anything? if so, the crick can just climb up to meet its doom. another alternative source would be to feed it hissing cockroach nymphs. they are arboreal climbers, too so it simplifies things even more. all of my arboreals seem to love them!

John

Immortal_sin

Arachnotemptress
Old Timer
I feed my arboreals from my roach colony, and it's never an issue, since the roaches will climb around and attract attention to themselves. I suspect it would be the same with crickets. Once a web is established, I usually just put the food item on the webbing, and it's dealt with in short order ;)
P regalis is a good eater IME, and mine have never had trouble locating their food.

Joe1968

Arachnoangel
Old Timer
my 1.25'' P. regalis is stll in its pill bottle enclosure so its easy for her to find the prey. but my other aboreal species such as P. irminia and cambridgei are in a larger enclosure and they sence it pretty good when theres a prey in their enclosure, so to answer your question, yes, just place the crickets in their cage and they will be able to find it , they can sence when theres a prey nearby and will attack it (very fun to watch), they have a very good speder sence. how big is your P. reg?

Windchaser

Arachnoking
Old Timer
pandinus said: