Lighting ?

ScorpionBob

Arachnosquire
Old Timer
Searched thru some threads but was not able to find a whole lot on lighting. What type of lighting do u folks reccommend for a G. Rosea? I believe that I read they are primarily nocturnal. Are there any pros or cons to simulating day/night for T's? Is it necessary?

CedrikG

Arachnoking
Old Timer
I keep mine everytime in the dark, as much as possible ... they will be more visible this way I think ... if you really want a light then I suggest a blacklight, I think they wont bother with that

Scott C.

Arachnofloater
Old Timer
I'm no expert, but I've heard that black lights are not so good for inverts.
Supposedly, red light does not bother inverts. I have no experience with this, but if you search for it you'll find something as I have read it here on the boards more than a few times.

Mattyb

Arachnoking
Old Timer
Well if you would read the keepers guide then you would know that heat lamps are not good for Ts. The book recomends not using heat lamps, because they easily dehydrate your Ts. It recomends using a heating pad under the tank, but have deep substrate. If the tank gets too hot it will stress out your T. But i do understand if you need heat lamps in the winter.

-Mattyb

Abraxis

Arachnosquire
Old Timer
Red Lights...

I would have to Agree with Scott...

I have a Red Lava Lamp and leave it on... they don't seem to get agitated by it... and have seen some interesting behaviors from them... and when the normal light goes on... BANG... instant rocks... as for normal lighting... I work nights so no lights on at night... and I keep the blinds closed and the room keeps pretty dark during the day... they seem to LOVE it...

Ken

Joeyo

Arachnosquire
Old Timer
i have also read that red light is good. supposedly Ts cannot see the red light and will still think that they are in the dark. again, im no expert, but i distinctly remember reading this. if im wrong, someone will correct me 8P

KingBollock

Arachnosquire