is cross breeding possible?

herp_house

Arachnopeon
im kinda new to breeding T's amd i want to know if it is possible to breed a giant zebra stripe male with a proven hation brown birdeater? please get back to me with any info you may have.

Darwinsdad

Arachnobaron
Old Timer
only if you want your male to be eaten by the female. The DNA between the two species is different so it wont work.

Blasphemy

Arachnobaron
Old Timer
That's interesting. But what about specimens in the same genus? say a B. smithi with a B. boehmi?

Darwinsdad

Arachnobaron
Old Timer
some suggest that many common species are in actually cross breeds them selfs but I am not sure this has been proven. I have not heard on the boards if any one has actually managed to interbreed two specimens of the same genuse or not but it is discouraged for many reasons.The search function could tell you much more in less time than me typing it to you.

Blasphemy

Arachnobaron
Old Timer
After a quick search I found a thread started (and then later closed) earlier this month on the same subject. Has much of the same questions, and some answers I suppose.

There was also a link to a picture in that thread which shows a hybrid of the genus Brachypelma here

Sheri

Arachnoking
Old Timer
Blasphemy said:
After a quick search I found a thread started (and then later closed) earlier this month on the same subject. Has much of the same questions, and some answers I suppose.

There was also a link to a picture in that thread which shows a hybrid of the genus Brachypelma here
Excellent use of the search function!

M

is

for

more!

TheDarkFinder

Arachnoangel
Old Timer
If you do