how much more can it eat?

juggalo69

Arachnobaron
Old Timer
I have a 3in G.rosea, not fully mature yet I don't think, that eats on average 1 cricket a day. But it goes into, what I assume from observation is, its hunting posture (up on its toes with its body high off the ground) at least twice a day. I know that everything that I've read says T's only need fed on average 3 times a week but mine seems hungrier then that. I'm fairly new to the whole arachnid thing I've had my scorps for about 4 months and I've only had my T. for about a month. I'm pretty well read so I'm not a total newbie I just haven't had the live experience for very long. Am I overfeeding it or do I need to feed it more if it acts hungry? Could this be a pre-molt thing? :?

Last edited:

obsidion

Arachnosquire
Old Timer
mine take anything i give them, "two a day is the most, bot not often at all" but mine only ignore food before a molt amd start eating like hell shortly after.. as fore the hunting posture i havent been so lucky to obseve that

bonesmama

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
Don't worry,with a rosea you'll be posting sometime in the future "Why won't she eat?" LOL! I've noticed with the T's that when I first bring them home, they eat like pigs. I am assuming you got yours at a Pet store? Most of them are barely knowledgable to keep the poor things alive. Mine have also spent alot of time at the waterdish when I first got them. I've wondered also if it is a stress response? Anyway, when she's done, you'll know it!

juggalo69

Arachnobaron
Old Timer
Now see in the month I've had it I have never seen it drink. I think it does, either that or the water is evaporating out of the dish overnight. I had a sponge in the water dish at one point (pet-co advice, which I've come to learn is crap) but I read that they can promote bacteria so I got rid of that now I just have a shallow water dish. I'll hopefully have some pics in a few days. :razz:

May

Arachnopeon