Sterilite storage.

Charnoble

Arachnopeon
So I know I am new to this whole turantula thing (3 days), but I have been planning for the future.

I was browsing my local target today and I came across these plastic drawer carts: Here

These seem terribly convenient and space efficient (though may or may not be price efficient). Ample room for any medium to mid-large size terrestrial or arboreal. The one thing I worried about was whether the space left in between the drawer and the ceiling was enough to escape. After a carefull examination of these spaces they ranged from 0 to at most 2 mm, which I doubt (but open to rebuke) that a mature T could fit through (we have to face it, Ts are a little hefty in the gluteus area =). If I tarantula were to open this and escape it would have to move all the weight of the container, substrate, bowls, hides, rocks, etc... I'm sure one could attatched a simple velcro latch of some sort to take extra procaution. Does anyone have any experience with plastic drawer storage containers as habitats?

The only problem that may arise is if an arboreal spins it's web at the top so that when the cage was opened it would break the T's home. This is going to go off topic for a bit, but actually all I have seen in person were Avics that built their webs in the top corners of cages that were top opening. Is this normal? It seems that they should be housed differently, so that the web doesn't break when you feed them.

Me,
Charnoble

edesign

AB FB Group Moderatr
Old Timer
i have eyed those too a few times...if the opening at the top is as small as you say it is (i haven't examined them very close) then no, they shouldn't be able to escape.