P.liosoma

Ythier

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
Hi,
Just want to show the difference in size between two adult females P.liosoma from Tanzania (5cm/2in) and Egypt (9cm/3,6in).
Cheers,
Eric

Last edited:

Wikkids_Wench

Arachnoknight
Old Timer
I'm probably about to show what a complete novice I am, but thanks for posting that - I had no idea there could be such a marked size difference in the same species from different locations :)

Although given the differences in conditions, genetics etc. I suppose it should be obvious...

Brian S

ArachnoGod
Old Timer
Very interesting!!!! I must have the Tanzanian species. The Egytian looks alsmost as large as P mossambicensis or P transvaalicus.

Ythier

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
Brian S said:
The Egytian looks alsmost as large as P mossambicensis or P transvaalicus.
Yes this female liosoma is as big as my bigger females mossambicensis.

OneSickPuppy said:
is there any others known from both locations for comparison?
I'm sorry but I don't understand your question :8o

darrelldlc

Arachnobaron
Old Timer
Eric, Can that happen with centruroides as well? I have 3 little C Margaritatus that are almost adult and are over a year old. but they are really small about 1 3/4 inches chelicerae to aculeus. Could they be from a population That was overpopulated? Thanks
Darrell.

Brian S

ArachnoGod
Old Timer
Darrell, I have noticed that when collecting C vittatus that some areas seem to have bigger specimens than other areas. I have no idea on why this is though

Ythier

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
Hi Darell,
As far as I know, small specimens are not rares in C.gracilis or C.margaritatus (an surely other Centruroides spp ?) broods.