Newb here..hoping for ID on new roommate

SoCal_RT

Arachnopeon
This is our new roommate here at our Southern CA home, inland a ways, a little more arid climate.
He/she has a little web covered corner to crouch in and sleep all day. Comes out at night for dinner by the porch light. The abdomen alone is about the size of a dime at least. I would have held a quarter beside him for reference, but to be honest, I was afraid to get any closer. :p
I hope these pics are ok. I shrunk them down for the sake of the moderators...the full size shots are here.

Anyone know what we got here?

Thanks!

SoCal_RT

Arachnopeon
Murziukas said:
araneus spp?
I thought it looked similar to the orb weaver from the other ID Request threads I went through, but the head is much smaller than most of the others.
I'm a total amateur when it comes to anything insect/spider related, but now I'm intreagued!

cacoseraph

ArachnoGod
Old Timer
SoCal_RT said:
I thought it looked similar to the orb weaver from the other ID Request threads I went through, but the head is much smaller than most of the others.
I'm a total amateur when it comes to anything insect/spider related, but now I'm intreagued!
the trick to id'ing spiders to family is to look at their eyes

specifically the size and location/arrangement of them :)

no guess from me, but good luck :)

SoCal_RT

Arachnopeon
cacoseraph said:
the trick to id'ing spiders to family is to look at their eyes

specifically the size and location/arrangement of them :)

no guess from me, but good luck :)
I'll try to get a better shot of her head tonight. She keeps it tucked behind her front legs and it's very hard to get a good closeup. She only comes out at night and my 3.1mp camera isn't the best for getting good low light shots...

cacoseraph

ArachnoGod
Old Timer
SoCal_RT said: