Some info...

Scared-of-Ts

Arachnopeon
Hello,

I'm new to Arachnoboards and am quite scared of spiders (as you can tell by my name) but I'm looking for more info on them and this looks like a great place to get it! Are any of them deadly? Which ones? What are the rules about having pet tarantulas if you're a tenant? (Particularly in Alberta and BC?). Are they dangerous for kids to be around? Babies? Are any illegal?

That's probably more than enough questions for now - any replies are much appreciated :?

BigBryan

Arachnoknight
Old Timer
i recently joined the other day i'm no expert but you have come to the right place! the people here will help you with basically anything you need to know and they are really nice...i'm also a bit scared of the fact that they can bite me but i still enjoy having one and take the best care i can for my T. AND for the first time i can say this to someone WELCOME TO THE BOARDS!!!

asher8282

Arachnosquire
Old Timer
all T's possess a certain amount of venom. rules about keeping them vary depending on where you live; best to just ask your landlord. basically some are handleable and some just arent. handling isnt really recommended, but lots of people do it. its just a matter of when and how really. as for when, if a T is giving you a threat display, then id say, that is not a good time, or if it is molting, definately not a good time. and as for how, there are several methods in the "methods of handling your Ts" sticky thread. do plenty of research. never handle a T if you do not know what sp. it is, and also just use common sense. and also, welcome, this place rocks!

Last edited:

smof

Arachnodemon
Old Timer
Scared-of-Ts said:
Hello,