Nhandu chromatus, anyone?

JetOoi

Arachnopeon
I'm a beginner in tarantula keeping. I got my first T last weekend and it is a rosea sling measuring 1.5cm. I love this little creature and decide to pick up another T, either N.chromatus or A.geniculata. There are very few information I can get for N.chromatus, and I know there must be some ppl own chromatus here. Mind to share with me? Any suggestion for me as well? thanks in advance.

(sorry for poor English:wall: )

smellyocheese

Arachnoknight
Old Timer
You can care for N chromatus the same way you care for you G rosea except keep the substrate a little moist. Give it some generous amount of substrate too cuz it may burrow but they are obligate burrowers. May just use a provided hideout. Even if it does burrow, it'll come out to walk around alot. The grow more rapidly than G rosea. That's about it :)

They should be more wel tempered than A genic although it can be nervous.

good luck!

Pennywise

Arachnolord
Old Timer
A good choice.

I got my N. Chromatus at the Daytona Expo last August. It has been an
interesting and fairly active T since then. They are quite "jumpy" meaning
nervous but I have not found mine to be defensive. He (a Male) would
rather retire to his hide than threaten. He was 3 inches when I got him
and now is close to 6 inches. I put a fairly shallow substrate with a cup hide
in for him and he uses it as well as getting behind it to chill out. Recently he has
built an elaborate "tent" of webbing and substrate that he sometimes gets
into.. Sometimes he will roam and climb for hours before resting, at other
times he will remain in plain view, his attractive colors on full display.

Nhandu Chromatus

Amanda

Arachnolord
Old Timer
Convenient thread! I have one arriving on my doorstep from Scott's on Wednesday. :-D My little guy/girl is listed as only 1/4", though. I'm really excited to grow something from so incredibly tiny to so large!

Stefan-V

Arachnoknight
Old Timer
Heres my little lady!:)