Moths

Geography Guy

Arachnobaron
Old Timer
I would like to start keeping types of moths. But I have no experience with them. I would like to start with Luna and Atlas Moths. Where would I get the Caterpilars from? How long do moths live for? So could someone help me out?

PINK1081

Arachnosquire
Old Timer
Bill Oehlke sells eggs from Prince Edward Island and has a great web site on moths. I bought some from him several years ago, really great to deal with.
Jim

Last edited:

Peter_Parker

Arachnobaron
Old Timer
Geography Guy said:
I would like to start keeping types of moths. But I have no experience with them. I would like to start with Luna and Atlas Moths. Where would I get the Caterpilars from? How long do moths live for? So could someone help me out?
Since most of the large saturniid moths don't possess mouth parts as adults they only live from 1-2 weeks as adults usually. I hear that for all their size and beauty Atlas moths in particular rarely make it over a week, only living long enough to mate. Plus I'm told the caterpillars only feed on certain types of citrus leaves, so I don't know how easy they would be to keep in captivity for a beginner (assuming you can find some). Won't be an interesting challenge though, cause If you get a female they can reproduce via parthenogenesis so you could end up with a ton of eggs (they'd all be male, though :D ).

Try this site though, they can probably help you get native North American moth species: http://www.birdsnbs.com/page16/page16.html

Geography Guy

Arachnobaron
Old Timer
Peter_Parker said: