More nematode questions

Trogdora

Arachnosquire
Old Timer
Hi everyone, I've got a few questions about nematodes. Today I noticed some white material around my wild-caught A. avic's mouth and anus. Over the past couple of weeks he's been lethargic, hasn't had much of an appetite, and has been spending more time around the bottom of his cage. I just chalked this up to the fact that he hooked out a couple months ago and could be out his way out, but today these new symptoms presented.

I've already isolated him far away from my other five t's, and my animals don't share dishes or anything but they have been kept in the same room. It sounds to me like nematodes are worms, but how exactly do they spread and how fast? Also, are the nematodes found in tarantulas harmful to humans and other animals? I've been keeping arachnids for seven years and I've never had a problem like this before, any information you can provide me with is much appreciated. Thank you!

Juraki

Arachnosquire
Old Timer
I found this with a google search.
http://www.giantspiders.com/article12.html

The article mentions small flies being able to transfer the worms between enclosures, you may want to get the infected T as far from the others as possible. Especially if you have seen flies.

Whiskeypunk

Arachnobaron
Old Timer
Juraki said:
I found this with a google search.
http://www.giantspiders.com/article12.html

The article mentions small flies being able to transfer the worms between enclosures, you may want to get the infected T as far from the others as possible. Especially if you have seen flies.