Thinking of getting a myriapod

~Abyss~

Arachnoking
Old Timer
what is a good beginner centi or mili. im really new at this so whats the difference, what would i need and where do i go about getting one.

Bark

Arachnoknight
Old Timer
You can search through the forum for more information, but basically:

Millipedes eat fruit, dead leaves, and rotting wood. You will need to feed them all 3 to keep them happy. Most species need you to keep their soil moist and keep the temps between 70F and around 80F. They secrete a liquid when afraid that can harm smaller animals, but has no effect on humans.
They are getting harder to find because of various laws.

Centipedes eat insects and small animals. They are venomous and from what I have read, they have a painful bite. I don't own any, but I know that you can buy them from online dealers and at pet shows.

Kasha

Arachnoknight
Old Timer
Millipedes in my opinion are slightly easier to keep, but keep in mind I have never had a centipede. Millipedes just do not require live/dead prey.
African Giant Blacks are pretty common and since they are larger they tend not to become dehydrated as quickly as a smaller one and seem to be pretty darn sturdy. My toddler who is now 3, has handled them often and they seem to enjoy her attention. And anything that can withstand the less the perfectly gentle handling of a child is sturdy as far as I am concerned. They seem to be more tolerant of being handled as well, and I have as yet to have one secrete on me. But I have only had experience with 4 different species.

ShadowSpectrum

Arachnoknight
Old Timer
Kasha said:
Millipedes in my opinion are slightly easier to keep, but keep in mind I have never had a centipede. Millipedes just do not require live/dead prey.