something to eat snails?

joey

Arachnopeon
I have been keeping, (and breeding not surprisingly ) giant african land snails for a few years now and one of the disadvantages , are the number of babies that i have.

It is becoming increasingly difficult to rehome the young, and i really cant kill the babies. I normally get rid of the eggs, to avoid being over run.

So my question... yes there is a point to my rambling.....does anyone have any suggestions of what i could keep that I could feed on snails. This would seem to me to be a solution. And the chance of a new pet:}

I am interested in all suggestions and anyone elses experiences of keeping ... whatever???

thank you
joanna

MEXICOYA415

Arachnobaron
Old Timer
I have no experience in this but I think certain smaller snakes wil eat snails, such as gardner snakes.

psionix

Arachnobaron
Old Timer
wolf snails and flatworms will eat them, not much else will besides some birds, etc..

here's a decent link

@MEXICOYA415
(BTW, it's Garter snake, not Gardner snake)

Malkavian

Arachnolord
Old Timer
find a monitor or tegu owner, I'm sure they'll be in your debt permenantly!

Also recall reading that blue tongues and shingleback skinks are partial to a bit of snail.

Grim91Z

Arachnosquire
Old Timer
I'm sure many reptiles will eat them. Buy a young Monitor and feed them to it. Just be prepared to have a 7 foot lizard in your near future. ;)

Ganoderma

Arachnobaron
Old Timer
thats ok as a supplement, but snails are nto staples in monitor diets. i think tegus would be better but again, not 100% snail.

Nick_schembri

Arachnobaron
Old Timer
snails form a large part of the blue tongued skink's diet in the wild...mine loves them...and....theyre beautiful and ideal pet lizards

dGr8-1

Arachnoknight
Old Timer
I think a pet turtle would be nice.
A snapping turtle sound cool too.

TheDarkFinder

Arachnoangel
Old Timer
By far the best snail eaters in the world are Tetraodon sp. namely
Tetraodon schoutedeni
Tetraodon miurus