Newbie ? about Goliath Birdeater I just ordered

737Eater

Arachnopeon
Im a rookie to this spider thing, all I have now are alligator snapping turtles. I spent 75 bucks on a 5 to 8 inch Goliath birdeater tonight, should be here tomorrow. I made sure they are giving me a female. I bought one of these because I like big, aggresive, mean animals as pets. My ? is will I be able to pick this sucker up, or is that a crazy idea? I thought baboon tarantulas were not to be handled, but I saw a pic on the forum of someone lettin one crawl all over their arm. Just wonderin, dont wanna get fangs sunk into me. Thanks

737Eater

Arachnopeon
On second thought, I just did some research, after seeing they are capable of biting into the bone i guess I dont wanna even try to handle her.

Action Jackson

Arachnosquire
Old Timer
So you want big, mean agressive pets so you can pick them up and play with them?

jwb121377

Arachnoangel
Old Timer
Even if your T blondi doesn't bite you I bet you only pick it up once, you see they have some of the worst hairs of any species(toward humans anyway).

belewfripp

Arachnobaron
Old Timer
T. blondi is big, not what I would call aggressive or mean. They don't particularly like being bothered, though, and will assume threat posture if they feel bothered or threatened. Mind the caution about the hairs: a lot of people are very sensitive to them and you will probably get hairs on you more often than you will be in a position to be bitten, which isn't to say just reach into the tank willy-nilly, but even if you are cautious about being bitten, you will still have to deal with the hairs.

I assume you have read up on the habitat they require, but if you need questions answered many people on these boards, including myself, have goliaths and would be happy to help.

Adrian

Sean

Arachnodemon
Old Timer
wow...

Ur first T is a T.Blondi?? oh man ur in for a surprise

kellygirl

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
Just wait till you hear it hiss....